My first post and first knit along

I recently just got involved at my local yarn shop, Knitche. I stopped by there one day to purchase some yarn for a baby sweater I was knitting for a friend. I just fell in love with the store, the atmosphere, the selection, and all the nice people. I have officially dubbed it my local yarn shop even though it is quite far distance from my actual home.knitchecookiernd.103201126_std

After my first purchase, I looked at taking some classes at Knitche and I found this thing called a knit along. To my surprise, it is exactly what it sounds like. People, mostly women, get together and knit the same project with an employee who helps with questions. I was a bit nervous the first time I went but it’s now become a regular part of my Saturday.

They picked a sweater project that I normally would not have chosen myself. It is the Beaubourg sweater by Julie Hoover.

I first went to Knitche to sign up for the knit along and pick out my yarn for the project. Luckily, Amanda, who is in charge of the knit a long, was working that day and she helped me pick out my colors. I wasn’t really set on any color scheme, I was going to pick what ever jumped out at me. The sweater is suppose to be knit all as one color but they did not have enough of one color lot to complete the whole sweater so I decided to pick two colors and do a transition in the sweater.

photo 1 (5)

Quince and Co. – Lark. Frost and Split Pea

I ended up choosing Quince and Company – Lark, frost and split pea. I still wasn’t sure how I was going to transition the colors but I knew I had more split pea so I started knitting with that.

The sweater is knit from the bottom up. The pattern says to knit each side separately but Amanda said she was going to knit both sides at the same time. I thought this was a great idea and did the same.

photo_2__3__medium2

Knitting both sides on one circular needle

The sweater went very quickly and soon I had to figure out how I was going to transition. I experimented with illustrator and decided on doing a gradient transition.

photo (5)

Transition from Split Pea to Frost

When I knit I try not to look to far ahead in to the pattern because I get overwhelmed the parts of the pattern I don’t understand yet. This turned out great for this pattern. I did not imagine the sleeves being a part of my gradient transition even though I was knitting them. It turned out much better then I expected!

photo (6)

The back and the front

Once I completed all the pieces, I had to figure out how to sew it all together. I searched on Ravelry a little bit to see what others did to stitch it up. It’s a unique sweater because the “wrong side” is actually the “right side” and the edges would be exposed. I ended up doing a Saddle Stitch, which made the edges really pop.

IMG_3279

Finished!

I finished a blocked the sweater and wore it this past Sunday. It fits great and is very warm. I can’t wait to show it off at Vogue Knitting Live Chicago this weekend!

One thought on “My first post and first knit along

Leave a Reply

