Vogue Knitting Live 2014 – Chicago

I spent this past weekend at the Palmer House in Chicago with lots of other women (and men) who have a passion for knitting and fiber. This was an awesome birthday present from my Mom and Dad and my Mom joined me for this wonderful weekend! It was full of learning and touching/feeling beautiful yarn. The market place was full of local yarn shops, fiber farms and knitting accessories. My Mom and I walked through the market place at least 6 times and loved just looking at the selection and displays.

IMG_3364

I’m not from Chagrin Falls, OH but my mom is.

IMG_3371

Me and my mom before our morning classes

My mom and I both took classes on Saturday. My Mom’s class was Learn Two-Color Knitting with Amy Detjen. She really enjoyed it and spoke very highly of Amy. I took the class A Sheep of a Different Color taught by Rhonda Fargnoli.

IMG_3390

This was the description of the class: “This full-day class will focus on understanding breeds of sheep and the unique fiber that they produce. This fun and informative two part class, will include knitting and dyeing. Students will be given a journal and will create several 4″ x 4 ” simple swatches in class. The swatches will be labeled by fiber content and then will be dyed using botanical extracts such as Cochineal and Indigo. The students will then record the hues that are produced from the different fibers and breeds and tag them and place in their journals. The class will also discuss what patterns would be best suited for each fiber. This process will assist students with their future knitting and dyeing projects.”

I expected to learn about different types of fiber and how they knit up and how to dye them. What we actually did was way more hands-on and discussion based. I very much enjoyed what we did and learned a lot. We wound up balls of different types of yarn to get a feel of each yarn then we knitted with each one to see how they knit up in to a swatch. Then we dyed our swatches and documented the process.

Flax

Fibra Natura – Flax – 100% Linen – Indigo

NoroCashmere

Noro – 100% Cashmere – Cochineal then Indigo

NoroBlend

Noro – 30% Cashmere 30% Silk 40% Lambs Wool – Indigo then Cochineal

Llama

Fibra Natura – Llamalini – 40% Royal Llama 25% Linen 35% Silk – Indigo/Cochineal mixture

KnitPicks

Knit Picks – 100% Peruvian Highland Wool – One Indigo, One Cochineal

Huntington

Valley Yarns – Huntington – 75% Fine Superwash Merino Wool 25% Nylon – Cochineal then Indigo

DeluxeWorsted

Deluxe Worsted – 100% Wool – Cochineal

The process was very informative and hands on. Seeing how the yarn soaked up the dye in different ways was very interesting. I did experiment a little with the colors. Some I just put in the indigo (blue) or cochineal (Red) dye others I put in both and I even made a purple mix of the dye to see what would happen. I have a plastic sheet that holds all of this in one spot and it’s great for future reference. Here are some other pictures from the weekend.

IMG_3387

The Dyeing Table

IMG_3394

Final Product

IMG_3396

An Alpaca Bear – In one of my favorite booths – Black Wolf Ranch

IMG_3406

Me and My Mom

I posted on my Instagram through out the weekend and my work was posted on the Vogue Knitting Live Instagram, which was very exciting!

FinishedProdutInstagram

My swatches!

DyeingInstagram

Those are my fingers!

The whole weekend was a great learning experience! I loved seeing how many other people share my passion and put their own spin on it! I will definitely be attending in the future hopefully taking more classes. Maybe one day I’ll be a vendor in the market place.

Leave a Reply

