Dream in Color Club – October

My mom got me an early Christmas present is year, the Dream in Color club. Her local yarn store, The Artful Yarn, is putting on this club. You get a skein of yarn and a pattern to go along with the pattern. The first month was September and I’m still working on that project. But then…

…the October skein came and I just fell in love with the colors and the pattern!

FullSizeRender_medium2

Dream in Color Club – Classy

I just had to start the pattern right away! This month was the Cruzado Criss Cross Cowl by Laura Nelkin. I haven’t done a lot of knitting with wrap arounds and this pattern had a ton of them. It also had a mobius cast on, which is something that still blows my mind. This video was very helpful: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LVnTda7F2V4

Once I figured out how to cast on the cowl and accepted the fact that I didn’t understand what I was doing, the cowl knitted up really fast. Or maybe I was just really excited and kept telling my self one more row…

IMG_3293

Finished

I didn’t take many in progress pictures because I was just so excited to see how it would turn out. When you do mobius cast on you can’t really see what the finished project will look like anyway because you are working from the middle out.

IMG_3294

The wrap arounds

I have a new found love for wrap arounds. They create such a cool effect especially in a cowl. At the end of the pattern comes the criss cross wrap around part. I didn’t understand it at first but after trying it a few times I got the hang of it and it turned out great. I’m going to have to incorporate more of these stitches in my future knitting ventures.

IMG_3296

Knits at work

I was so excited to finish the cowl that I wore it to work the next day. There is only one other women in my office. But, she noticed and complimented me on it. I finished it in with perfect timing because I also showed it off at Vogue Knitting Live!

IMG_3371

At Vogue Knitting Live – Chicago

It was a big hit! Another women in my class had the same cowl. I also got complimented in the marketplace by a man on the colorway. I’m still working on the September pattern and just got the November one. So much yarn and so little time!

Check this project out on Ravelry!

3 thoughts on “Dream in Color Club – October

  1. I love the colors and the yarn! Laura showed it off in the class I took with her at VKL and I am in love!!! Definitely looking forward to that pattern coming out after the club 🙂 What a great gift too from your mom!!

    Like

  2. Pingback: My family knows me too well | SmitKnits

Leave a Reply

