A Sweater for Baby Alyss

Our friends had a precious little girl in August 2013. She turned 1 this year and I just had to make her something. I saw this pattern for a Striped Pullover in the Knit Picks catalog and thought it was adorable and perfect for little Alyss.

Now little Alyss is not actually that little, she is quite big for her age. That being said I decided to go with the bigger size.

Alyss1

The body on double pointed needles

I chose some beautiful Swan’s Island Washable yarn. I knew both of her parents weren’t knitters and I didn’t want the sweater to get ruined if it accidentally got washed.

Alyss2

Stripes!

I think my favorite part about this sweater was the stripes. It made a simple sweater so much more interesting.

Alyss3

The body

This was the first time that I have made a sweater that was in pieces. Sewing the arms on was not easy. I struggled lining up the stitches. At the end of the day my goal was to make sure the arms didn’t come off when tugged on, I was successful.

Alyss4

Finished!

This sweater turned out way better then expected. The pattern was very unclear at some points and I just had to wing it. But, it turned out great and I love how the colors came together.

Alyss5

Alyss with her new sweater

Alyss loved her sweater. Once she opened it she was hugging it and just holding it. I gave it to her in August (which was when her 1st birthday was). She wasn’t able to wear it until recently. According to the parents they have already accidentally put the sweater in the washer and dryer but it survived! (good thing I got the washable wool). They also use it quite a bit. It’s a tad big for her which is great because it fits over what she’s already wearing and she can wear it as an outdoor layer.

Leave a Reply

